Simone Boilard

“Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind in the present moment.”Buddha

Nickname:Pocket Rocket

D.O.B.: 21 July 2000

Birth city and state: Quebec City, Quebec, Canada

Current City:Quebec City, Quebec, Canada

Height: 5'2

Specialty: All around

Previous sports: Cross-country skiing

Years racing: 13

Colleges attended: Cegep @ distance

Degree: High School diploma

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/simoneboilard

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/simone.boilard

Twitterlink: @simoneboilard1https://twitter.com/simoneboilard1

As far as she can remember, Simone has always been cycling. She started pedaling when she was only three years old. At this time, her competitive side was already predominant as she was trying to beat every boy on her path.

From 2016 to 2018, Simone was able to show her big ambitions in the sport with some good results. Simone is a hard worker who puts a lot of effort and intensity in everything she does. She dreams of going to the Olympics and becoming one of the best cyclist in the World. When she is not on her bike, you can find her doing homework or doing other outdoor activities with the same kind intensity.

Career Highlights

  • 2018 Junior Bronze medalistWorld Championships - Road Race
  • 2018 Junior 5th place World Championships - Time Trial
  • 4 x National Champion
  • 1 x Medalist at Canada Games (as a junior upgraded U23)
  • 10 x Provincial Champion

2018

  • Junior Bronze medalistWorld Championships - Road Race
  • Junior 5th place World Championships - Time Trial
  • Junior National Time Trial Champion
  • Junior National Criterium Champion

2017

  • Winner of the Tour International dela Relève de Rimouski
  • Three time medalist Canada Games
  • 8th place Junior World Champion - Road Race
  • 2nd place Green Mountain Stage Race - GC
  • 3rd Canadian National Championships - Road Race

2016

  • Winner of the Tour International de la Relève de Rimouski
  • Canadian Junior National Champion - Time Trial (as a cadet rider)
  • 5 time Gold Medalist at Quebec Games
  • 3 time Provincial Champion
  • Gold Medalist Canadian National track championships

What inspired you to become a bikeracer?

It was my dad who got me into cycling when I was only 3 years old. I was always active, doing cross-country skiing, alpine skiing and running but my passion for cycling has always been greater. I always had a competitive edge and racing my bike gaveme the opportunity to fulfill my urge to perform.

Who is an inspiration to you in your life, both on and off the bike?

Both of my sisters inspire me on and off the bike because they both excel in their respective domains. My youngest sister is an amazing synchronized swimmer and I admire her way of overcoming new challenges with positivity and willingness. My oldest sister is now a lawyer and I have always been looking up to her because she is the most disciplined and organized person I know.

Favoritemeal when training?

When you’re bonked, there is nothing like a Snickers.  

The best thing about being a bike racer is?

The best thing about being a bike racer is to have the opportunity to discover new places. Whether it is when my boyfriend plans an epic route or when I visit a new country for a training camp or a race.

What is your biggest accomplishment on the bike?

My biggest accomplishment on the bike is definitely my 3rd position at the 2018 Junior World Championships. I had big aspirations forthis race since the end of my 2017 season. I prepared mentally and physically for the World Championships during a whole year and I was ready when it really mattered. I learned a lot through this process and I’m very proud of this accomplishment.

Favorite place you’ve raced your bike and why?

Austria. Wherever you are riding in this country, you can observe the immensity of the mountains.

Favorite cross training or off-seasonactivity?

I like cross-country skiing as a cross training and hiking as an off season activity.

Best tip for a new bike racer?

Find a Mentor. It is really helpful to have an experienced racer take you under his wing.

What are one or two things that you do daily that isthe key to your success?

I always try to have a positive mindset and focus on the present moment.

If you weren’t bike racing what would you be?

I would be a cross-country skier.

If you could spend 10 days anywhere, where would it be?

Anywhere by the beach.

Favorite things to do off the bike:

  1. Hiking
  2. Yoga
  3. Playing piano
  4. Cooking
  5. Reading

Top 5 warm-up/pre-race songs on your iPod:

I rarely listen to songs when I warm up but when I do, I love P.I.M.P to get in the mood ;)

Favorite things to eat.

  1. Sushi
  2. Spring rolls
  3. Home made gnocchis
  4. Greek food
  5. Anything with peanut butter on it

Tell us something about yourself that people may not know

I can sing by heart all of the Charles Aznavour’s songs


SRAM Felt Bicycles ZIPP Quarq JL Velo Kenda Tire