Holly Breck

 “The cave you fear to enter holds the treasure you seek.” – Joseph Campbell

Nickname: Holla Holly Berry, BreckXBreck, lil B, Berry, Chib

D.O.B.: 05/27/1992

Birth city and state: Santa Barbara, Ca

Current City: Santa Ynez, Ca

Height:5’7”

Specialty: Sprinting

Previous sports: Motocross

Years racing: 1 year, professionally

Colleges attended: Santa Barbara City College

Degree: N/A

Personal Website link: N/A

Instagram link: https://www.instagram.com/breckinball441

Facebook link: https://www.facebook.com/holly.breck

Twitter link: https://twitter.com/breckinball441

Holly Breck is no stranger to two wheeled things or racing at that matter. From the age of 2 years old, she has been on a bike with and without a motor. She started riding moto at 2 years old and racing at age 8. Turning professional at the age of 15 in motocross she raced another 3.5 years there, winning a few of her first pro races she entered. After that, Holly found another love for 2 wheeled sports, cycling. She got a bike in June 2010 and started racing in 2011. She quickly went from a cat 4 to a cat 1 in a year, winning more then 30+ races her first year of racing. 2012 she started racing for an elite team called Incycle P/b Fullcircle cycling where she raced her first Pro 1-2 season. As well as racing on the road, Holly also races mountain bikes and cyclocross. She’s completed Leadville trail 100 twice and the first year set the youngest women’s finisher under 10 hrs. She has also raced some Enduro races in the women’s Pro class taking a couple podiums and a top spot.

While racing her bike, Holly works full time at her local bike shop as a mechanic/sales person.

Career Highlights

  • 4th Valley of the Sun criterium
  • 4th Chico stage race criterium
  • 3rd Tour de Murrieta Road race
  • 1st Chuck Pontius Criterium
  • 18th Energiewacht tour Stage 5 road race

2016

  • Tour de Murrita overall 4th
  • Chuck Pontius Omenium overall 1st
  • Energiewacht tour Stage 18th
  • Tour de Feminin stage 2 21st
  • ARCO Grand Prix Long Beach 1st
  • San Rafael twilight criterium 2nd
  • Manhattan Beach GP 5th

2015

  • Valley of Fire stage race 4th overall
  • Budweiser Sequoia Cycling Classic 7th
  • Chevron Manhattan Beach Grand Prix 7th
  • 805 Criterium Weekend Omnium p/b Explore Lompoc 1st
  • San Luis Rey Road Race 3rd
  • Tour of Utah Women's Edition 19th
  • The TSG Realty Gateway Cup 21st overall

What inspired you to become a bike racer?

This is a question that always gets me because there are so many ways to anwer it. I can’t pin-point exactly what inspired me to become a bike racer, but what had a huge influence on me was always trying to become a better athlete every chance I got. Being faster than the time before and being stronger and wiser then whoever I was riding or “racing “with. Being competitive definitely has something to do with it and having an older brother that I wanted to be like and/ or better than all the time has a huge influence as well.

Who is an inspiration to you in your life, both on and off the bike?

The people that inspire me the most are my close friends and family. They are the ones that can make me laugh, smile. The ones who believed in me since day one and never give up on me are the inspiring ones. My family, my brother who got me into everything I do, my coach Patrick Caro, Nicola and Mari for giving me this opportunity of a lifetime, my old teammates/current teammates, my hometown friends, people who have helped me get to where I am today, they’re the ones that inspire me to be a better me and that means everything to me.

Favorite meal when training?

WITHOUT A DOUBT… Eggs and bacon, a green apple, a banana and almond butter

The best thing about being a bike racer is?

Travel, seeing different places and experiencing new things.

What is your biggest accomplishment on the bike?

This one is very hard to answer… For this year the biggest accomplishment was getting the opportunity to race for Twenty 16 Ridebiker and getting to do most of the bigger professional races and I also got the opportunity to race in Europe for USA on the national team. The year was an unforgettable one.

Favorite place you’ve raced your bike and why?

EUROPE!!! Its sooo different, I love it!!!. My vocabulary is nowhere near big enough to describe it. The aggression, the atmosphere, the elements that comes with it all, it’s incredible. It reminds me of motocross a lot so that suffering level feels like home.

Favorite cross training or off season activity?

Gym works outs and motocross

Best tip for a new bike racer?

Learn as much as possible, act like you know nothing, take it all in and have fun. If it isn’t fun then it’s not worth your time or money

What are one of two things that you do daily that are the key to your success?

Have fun with whatever it is that you are doing. Don’t turn it into work, otherwise you’re not going to be excited for what’s to come.

If you weren’t bike racing what would you be?

If I wasn’t racing bikes id be trying to be an athlete in some sort of sport like soccer. For a real job, something in the kinesiology field like an athlete trainer or a PT.

If you could spend 10 days anywhere, where would it be?

10 days anywhere??!?! Somewhere with mountains, trees, mountain biking trails, a river and a camping spot where I can build a small fire and roast marshmallows.

TWENTY20 has an emphasis on education with the initiation of our Junior Scholarship program Ride 4 Education in 2015.
http://teamtwenty16.com/education.htm

Why is continued education important?

I think it’s always important to keep learning no matter what. Young, middle aged or old I think it’s never too late to learn something new. It’s what keeps us young and on our toes, but really education leads to money and money leads to power and freedom to do whatever it is that you want. Education is important.

Favorite things to do off the bike:

  1. Ride Moto
  2. Paddle board /kayak
  3. Hike
  4. Camping
  5. Dancing

Top 5 warmup/pre-race songs on your iPod:

  1. Fetty wap - 679
  2. Thrift shop - Macklemore
  3. Years & Years - shine
  4. Get on the Floor - Micheal Jackson
  5. The chainsmokers - Don’t let me down

Favorite things to eat.

  1. Eggs
  2. Bacon
  3. Almond butter
  4. Pancakes
  5. Salad

Tell us something about yourself that people may not know:

I’m a human radio, I know just about every pop song on the radio that comes on. I use to be able to pop my teeth out, I’ve had a job since I was 11 years old, I was terrified to ride a moto on trails, when I get tired EVERYTHING becomes funny. J


Sho-Air SRAM Felt Bicycles ZIPP Quarq JL Velo Kenda Tire