Makayla MacPherson

“I don’t want to win every race, just the next one.”- Lou Holtz

Nickname: Kayla

D.O.B.: September 17,2003

Birth city and state: Corona, California

Current City: Corona

Height: 5’1”

Specialty: Road and Track

Previous sports: Swimming and Running

Years racing: 5

Makayla’s cycling career started at the local Carson track when she was seven while living in Corona, California. Soon after she started to ride the road as well as the track and fell in love with both disciplines. She won her first National Championship at the age of twelve and won track and all road titles that year. She has continued to race both road and track since then and enjoys every minute. She feels riding with TWENTY20 will help her learn more about racing and grow as a cyclist with some of the best elite athletes


  • 1st USA Cycling Jr National Championships Time Trial
  • 3rd USA Cycling Jr National Championship Road Race
  • 2nd USA Cycling Jr National Championships Criterium
  • 2nd USA Cycling Jr Track National Omnium
  • 2nd Copenhagen Mini 6 days


  • 2nd USA Cycling Jr national Championships Road Race
  • 2nd USA Cycling Jr National Championships Track omnium
  • 5th USA Cycling Jr National Championships criterium


  • 1st USA Cycling Jr National Championships Road Race
  • 1st USA Cycling Jr National Championships Time Trial
  • 1st USA Cycling Jr National Championships Criterium
  • 1st USA Cycling Jr National Championships Track Omnium

What or who inspired you to become a bike racer?

My dad, he was a professional BMX racer and I wanted to race bikes like him.

Who is an inspiration to you in your life, both on and off the bike?

My family and friends are my biggest inspiration and they support me in what I do, both for cycling and everyday things.

Favorite meal when training?

Barbecue chicken salad

The best thing about being a bike racer is?

Getting to travel around the world and meet new people while accomplishing your goals.

What is your biggest accomplishment on the bike?

Being the first women’s Madison team to place top three overall and wins nights at the Mini 6 day race in Copenhagen with my friend Zoe.

Favorite place you’ve raced your bike and why?

The favorite place I raced is the track for the Mini 6 day race in Copenhagen. I loved all the fans in the crowd cheering you on and watching the other pros race.

Favorite cross training or off-season activity?

Running with my sisters.

Best tip for a new bike racer?

Always make sure you are always having fun!

If you weren’t bike racing what would you be?

Probably a swimmer like my other sisters.

What is something that nobody would know about you?

I have an irrational fear of small bugs.

What does Ridebiker Alliance mean to you?

It is an amazing support system for cycling teams. I am so thankful for Ridebiker Alliance and their support in our team.

Tell us something that others would not know about you

I have wanted to be a pediatric doctor since I was five.

Favorite things to do off the bike:

  1. Read
  2. Watch Netflix
  3. Cook
  4. Shop
  5. Hang out with friends

Top 10 warmup/pre-race songs I listen to:

  1. Human
  2. Thunder
  3. Young Wild and Free
  4. Retro
  5. Wish I Knew You
  6. Renegades
  7. Work Song
  8. Workout
  9. Santeria
  10. Dog Days Are Over

SRAM Felt Bicycles ZIPP Quarq Athlos Kenda Tire