Danielle Morshead

"Nothing is boring except to people who aren't really paying attention."

-Michael Chabon

Nickname: Dani

D.O.B.: 9/26/1996

Birth city and state: Greenbrae, CA

Current City: Providence RI/ San Anselmo CA

Height: 5’8’

Previous sports: Rowing, volleyball, swimming

Years racing: 2

Colleges attended: Brown University

Degree: History

Instagram link instagram.com/dani.da.dog

Facebook link facebook.com/dani.morshead

Danielle is a 21 year old in her senior year at Brown University. She grew up exploring the hills around her hometown in San Anselmo, California. Before she found bike racing she was a competitive rower. She won a junior national championship in 2013 and rowed at the D1 level for two years at Brown. In addition to rowing, she has competed in a plethora of sports, including volleyball, cross country running, swimming, soccer, and basketball.

When Danielle is not riding her bike you can catch her enjoying the sunshine either hiking with her dogs or swimming at the beach.

Career Highlights

  • 3rd 2017 USA Collegiate Nationals Crit
  • 3rd 2017 USA Collegiate Nationals Time Trial
  • 17th USA Pro Crit Nationals (4th U23)
  • 1st ECCC Championship Crit
  • 1st ECCC Championship Road Race
  • 1st 2017 ECCC Season Omnium

2017

  • 1st Grant’s Tomb Memorial Crit
  • 1st Bear Mountain Spring Classic Road Race
  • 1st 6th Annual CCNS Kermis
  • 2nd Pescadero Coastal Classic Road Race
  • 6th Collegiate Cyclocross Nationals

2016

•4th ECCC Championship Road Race

•1nd ECCC Championship Crit

•1st San Rafael Sunset Crit (cat ¾)

•1st Mayor’s Cup Boston Crit (cat ¾)

What inspired you to become a bike racer?

In high school, I would get up early to ride my grandmother’s steel frame bike to school 8 miles away. When I looked back in the evenings, my favorite part of the day was always the ride to school! I loved the feeling of flying past the morning traffic and getting my heart rate up before the school day. I didn’t do any serious riding until college, when I spent my summers and breaks riding the roads of the North Bay Area. I met the captain of my school’s bike team, and it didn’t take much for him to convince me to ship my bike across the country and join the team. I wouldn’t say that one single thing inspired me to race, rather bike racing perfectly fits my competitive personality while simultaneously allowing me to explore the place I love most; the outdoors.

Who is an inspiration to you in your life, both on and off the bike?

My older sister is a major source of inspiration for me. She is the kind of person who knows what she wants and is not afraid to show it. She really has that “go getter” personality and I respect it very much.

Favorite meal when training?

I eat eggs almost every morning. I’m also a fan of sandwiches.

The best thing about being a bike racer is?

Meeting incredible people. I’ve traveled around so much in the short time I’ve been doing this sport and I’ve made so many friends around the country of all ages and backgrounds!

What is your biggest accomplishment on the bike?

Results-wise, I am most proud of how I did in the East Coast Collegiate Conference last road season. I won almost all of the women’s A races and secured the overall title. Next year I’m hoping to seal the deal with a win at collegiate Nationals!

Favorite place you’ve raced your bike and why?

I loved being in Oregon last year for the Cascade Classic. I had never been up north that far on the west coast and I definitely need to explore the area more!

Favorite cross training or off season activity?

Hiking, running, volleyball, rock climbing.

Best tip for a new bike racer?

Have fun! Bikes are the best!

What are one or two things that you do daily that are the key to your success?

I have a pretty strict sleep schedule. I typically go to bed at 11pm and wake up at 8am. I’ve been told this is pretty early for a college student, but I think you’re never too old to have a bedtime.

If you weren’t bike racing what would you be?

I would be helping make bicycling more accessible for everyone. I’ve found that biking creates connections not only between riders, but also with the community and the outdoors. However, despite all of its benefits and virtues, the sport has both societal and financial barriers to entry. These barriers could easily be eliminated given proper equipment, training, and guidance.

If you could spend 10 days anywhere, where would it be?

I’d spend it backpacking somewhere in the Sierras.

Favorite things to do off the bike:

1. Read

2. Make delicious meals

3. Hike

4. Spend quality time with friends/family

5. Camp

Top 5 warmup/pre-race songs on your iPod:

1. Can I Sit Next to You- Spoon

2. As Crazy As It Is- ZHU

3. Hyperparadise- Flume Remix- Hermitude

4. Genesis- Justice

5. Dangerous- David Guetta

Favorite things to eat.

1. Fruits (apples, bananas, berries)

2. Sandwiches (turkey preferably)

3. Muffins

4. Ice cream

5. Pasta

Tell us something about yourself that people may not know

I have several useless talents, for example I can unicycle, juggle, unicycle and juggle simultaneously, and I know pi to 150+ digits.


SRAM Felt Bicycles ZIPP Quarq JL Velo Kenda Tire