Georgia Simmerling

Hard Work beats talent when talent doesn’t work hard

Nickname: Gee

D.O.B.: March 11th 89

Birth city and state: Vancouver

Current City: Calgary

Height: 5’7

Specialty: Track

Previous sports: Alpine skiing, Ski Cross

Years racing: 1

Personal Website link http://www.georgiasimmerling.com

Instagram link @gsimmerling

Facebook link http://www.facebook.com/georgiasimmerling

Twitter link @gsimmerling

Georgia grew up in Vancouver with three older brothers. She chased them around and simply had to keep up if she wanted to hang with her bros. This led to her adrenalin seeking behavior where she quickly worked up the ranks to the National Alpine Ski Team. Georgia competed in her hometown Winter Olympic games in 2010 in the Super G event in Whistler, Canada. She decided to switch sports after the Games to the sport of Ski Cross. Her talent and work ethic earned her on to the Ski Cross National team within months, and later to the 2014 Winter Olympic Games in Sochi, Russia in Ski Cross. Georgia wanted more. She wanted to be a summer Olympian so in the spring of 2015 she decided to put Ski Cross on hold and commit everything to make the Canadian Track Cycling National Team. Georgia, just having competed in 2 international competitions with Track, was named to the 2016 Summer Olympic Games with the Canadian Team pursuit team and brought back a bronze medal to Canada. She is back focusing on cycling looking towards Tokyo 2020. Georgia is thrilled to be apart of Twenty20 on the road.

Career Highlights

  • Bronze 2016 Olympic Medal
  • 11 Career Ski Cross World Cup podiums
  • Canada’s only 3x multi sport Olympian

What inspired you to become a bike racer?

I always loved to bike as cross training as skier. Something in 2014 sparked my interest and an idea of becoming a summer Olympian got stuck in my head and it just never went away, so I decided to try and make it a reality.

Who is an inspiration to you in your life, both on and off the bike?

I am lucky to have so many incredible people in my life, many of which are incredibly successful athletes who are also incredible people. These people inspire me daily.

Favorite meal when training?

Avocado toast with a fried egg on a GOOD slice of sourdough

The best thing about being a bike racer is?

I think this sport is by far the most rewarding I’ve done. There is nothing like doing a workout, giving every ounce of your energy to it, and doing the exact same workout the following week and visibly seeing yourself get stronger. I love that.

What is your biggest accomplishment on the bike?

Crossing the finish line in the 2016 Summer Olympic Games to win Bronze with my Canadian teammates.

Favorite place you’ve raced your bike and why?

 Hmm.. I haven’t been to many places, but London was very cool.

Favorite cross training or off-season activity?

Yoga is a big part of my life. I enjoy getting into a grove when I’m in one place for a while and going to a class almost every day.

Best tip for a new bike racer?

You’re capable of so much more than you think. Push your limits both mentally and physically, but listen to your body. Understand that rest is as important as training itself.

What are one or two things that you do daily that are the key to your success?

Drink coffee, and Stretch. I’m only half kidding about the coffee. Eating well and proper nutrition is a huge key to my success.

If you weren’t bike racing what would you be?

Probably an athlete in another sport.

If you could spend 10 days anywhere, where would it be?

Peru.

Tell us something about yourself that people may not know 

I went to a super alternative school called Waldorf. If you know Waldorf, you know.. J

Favorite things to do off the bike:

  1. Be in the same city as my girlfriend
  2. Yoga
  3. Grocery shop and browse every aisle with no time limit
  4. Spend time with my nephews and nieces

Top 5 warmup/pre-race songs on your iPod:

1.My top songs are constantly changing! But anything up beat with a great beat.

Favorite things to eat.

  1. Anything fresh, with tons of veg and a great dressing.
  2. When I go home to my parents for dinner after a long trip my mom and I often cook roasted chicken, quinoa, roasted cauliflower and sautéed swiss chard.

SRAM Felt Bicycles ZIPP Quarq JL Velo Kenda Tire